Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

ChrisFS
Casual Contributor

Feeling burnt out

I'm a social worker, and I've been supporting my partner and step kids through ongoing DV from their father/ex husband for about 2 years, federal circuit court ect.

It's taken it's toll on both of us, triggering both of us for along time now (I also experienced dv in my past marriage as a male, victim).

The last few weeks have been excruciatingly hard, my step son disclosed sexual absuse, he has ASD and is 8. 

We're both so triggered and hurt, I'm currently sleeping in a park in the rain and I hate this...

So just saying something, speaking out finally to talk about it and joined the group because I have let my self-care go to the wayside, and I shouldn't have. 

I feel like I've failed them.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Feeling burnt out

It’s okay to feel defeated sometimes, but I am more then sure when I say that your son disclosed this hard information to you because he trusts you; all your efforts have paid off, he’s seen it and felt your love. 

I know this information is something no parent wants to hear however, him telling you this shows how strong your bond is and how much he knows you’ll always be there for him and his mum. 

Having emotions bottled up isn’t natural— it’s normal to cry and let out everything we feel. But what’s important is, reminding ourselves of our achievements and what we can control in these hard times. 
I would suggest having a sit down with your partner; hash out everything you’ve been feeling by using open communication. 
I am sure it will release some pressure off of your chest.