Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

JohnS
Contributor

Introducing myself

Hi everyone

My name is John and I am a retired librarian. At present I am in a good place living a stable life on the coast of nsw with my beautiful wife. I have come to to the Sane forum to learn about (and hopefully help) ) other sufferers of mental illness. I have Bipolar and was diagnosed with it 1998. I have found a brilliant psychiatrist who has prescribed the correct medication to keep the manic side of me under control. Since moving to the coast I have finally found the best pyschologist I have ever had who has helped me immensely. Before I met my doctor I self medicated with drugs and alcohol. So, whilst I am a part of the forum I think I ccan use my life skills to help other people in their journey and struggles in life. Thank you for allowing me to tell my story. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Best wishes.

JohnS

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Introducing myself

Hello @JohnS

A very warm welcome to the forums 🙂 it is nice to meet you. Thank you for introducing yourself and sharing some of your experiences with us, it's great that you have found a great psychologist currently and finding ways of managing your manic symptoms. I look forward to hearing more.

Are there certain skills that you have learnt that you have found particularly helpful for you?

Lunar

Hi Lunar

Thanks for your kind words and welcome. I feel very comfortable with this forum.

Handling my illness involves a range of things.

Firstly : having mental health professionals who know their stuff and you can communicate well with.. They should provide the proper medication (doctors) and therapy to deal with life skills (psychologists).