Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

j___________
Contributor

BPD/CPTSD BOTH?

Hi

I’m new to a diagnosis of CPTSD. However I think that I have BPD with multiple traumas. At the moment I’m waiting on a hospital admission. I’ve had MH struggles for 30+ years and I’m female. 
Currently I’m dealing with intrusive negative thoughts about myself and suicidal ideation is quite intense. I’m safe. I’m not acting on my thoughts but due to having been weaned off a medication for pain my thoughts are becoming more distressing. I’ve had trouble in the past trusting health professionals but the part few years I’ve had some wonderful practitioners for the first time in my life that I know that there’s something more going on with me than the severe depression and sleep issues that have been diagnosed in the past. I’m tired of getting the run around and changes in medications in the past five years that have made things worse.

Any advice on how I navigate my upcoming admission and finally get the right diagnosis? I’m exhausted from trying to get help and help not being forthcoming.

TIA

3 REPLIES 3

Re: BPD/CPTSD BOTH?

Hey @j___________ ,

Thank you for sharing. I'm hearing how you are looking to get a diagnosis as you have been struggling for 30 odd years. It's certainly a long time, and I am guessing it hasn't been easy at all. 

Is this a planned admission into a private hospital?

I have BPD, but I've never had a planned admission into a private hospital. I've only had planned admissions into PARC (prevention and recovery centres). I was deemed 'too high risk' to be in a private setting due to my chronic suicidal ideation.

From this upcoming admission, what were YOU wanting to achieve?