Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Magpie2
Contributor

Adapting to job uncertainty

I need help adapting to working in a role that is now insecure.

After 20+ years in the workforce, in October last year I started in a profession I had been working toward for years, but there were so many difficulties and a fair bit of discrimination between me and getting this job. I've got a lot of relevant experience, but employers in this field just prefer early-year professionals who will work any hours it takes, and I have kids and now little useful childcare, so can't promise that. 

They advertised the job as ongoing (or I simply wouldn't have applied); it's public service, but not federal; a public service that runs on a shoestring. I didn't care about being paid less, but still expected that it would be 'secure'. This lefty-forever govt even spouts several policies geared toward promoting job security. 
When I was offered the job, they offered a 12-month contract instead, but said that's just due to the way they're funded and the jobs nearly always roll over. I know I took that chance. 
I've had a f-ed up supervisor this year: new to supervising; quite good (and awarded) at our usual role, but the things that make her good at that (precision, perfectionism, workaholic) make her a nightmare manager. I took on board what I could, worked my butt off... and then a couple of weeks ago she moved to a different role. In the past couple of months, I've had other supervisor that say really really good stuff about my work; she would just pick holes in the bad parts 'to help me improve'. Anyway, the point is, I outlasted her and things were going reasonably well.