Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Benji-blue
New Contributor

I'm not sure what to do? - partner with bpd/adhd

I am very new to this so bear with me.

I have been on and off with the same partner for almost 4 years now. He was diagnosed with bpd & adhd last year and Im pretty sure he has some narcissistic traits.

Our relationship has had alot of ups and downs, with him running back to his ex, as he can go onto "auto pilot and emotional lockdown", were with me I let him think for himself and he can make his own decisions, so his head freaks out.(his words)

A couple of hurdles we have are:

that I have co-dependency issues with him as need/seek his approval, but he has alot more with his ex.  

He is still being controled and dictated to by his ex/kids but on the other hand he controlls and dictates me - but has never laid a hand on me.

His cycles are rapidly changing closer and closer together. I am always the one in the firing line. With him saying very cold hearted hurtful things, not contacting me or seeing me for periods of time.

His sex drive with me is usually non exsistent, I have had him say that he went and sleep with his ex to "punish himself" to put himself into "lockdown" and only slept with me (maybe once month if that) becasue he was "expected too". I am a very physical person and am finding this very hard. 

He has been repeatedly told by "family" members that he shouldnt be seeing me, we shouldnt betogether etc..We live in seperate houses and we both have our older kids living with us.  

He said that his head keeps saying that he shouldnt be with me, he shouldnt be talking to me, I shouldnt be in heart but I am.