Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Selene
Contributor

Different day, same me

This is my first post and I hope it is in the right spot. 

I've suffered from or with depression for over 10 years. It came on after major surgery that saved my life. I have times that I can't get out of bed. It has cost me several good jobs and a couple of relationships. I'm not good at all on the anti depressants and I'm not taking any at the moment. I have been seeing a psychologist over the past 6 months but that is about to finish and it hasn't done enough. I have a part time job i've managed to keep for 5 years but I'm starting to turn up just a little late and I'm worried I'm going to ruin that. I want to know how people has helped themselves to get out of bed and do something each day. I realise that I can make lists  of things to do and sometimes that helps but it's not at the moment. I also don't take very good care of myself phsyically. I don't eat properly even though I could. I also don't shower every day. Any ideas or hints to help me motivate myself would be greatly appreciated.

I'm worried that the progress I have made with the psychologist is slipping away. 

9 REPLIES 9

Re: Different day, same me

Hi @Selene. I'm about to reenter the workforce after being off with depression and anxiety.
There's a few things you do need:
* A sleeping routine - bed at a certain time - up at a certain time - to make sure you get enough sleep - whixh we need for our depression.
* Support - we can't do it alone. Good friends or family to talk to. Or a psychologist. Is there a work mate that you can talk to