Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Goldie1
New Contributor

Feel like I can no longer support my depressed alcoholic partner

Hi,

I am currently trying to support my depressed alcoholic husband-to-be while we wait to get him into detox and a long term rehab facility. The process to get him into these is infuriating and I am left to support him on my own while working full time as a shift worker.

I work in health care so am around sick and injured people all day and then come home to someone who can't do anything for themselves except go to the bottle shop to get more booze. All week we have been battling to get him admitted into detox, now it's the weekend and we can't even call them to check on progress because they are Mon to Fri. So I'm left on my own again without any real support.

Talking to people only does so much, I need him out of my house but he is not 'sick' enough to go to hospital. They are going to have two mentally unwell people on there hands soon if this keeps up.

I have just finished a stint of 12 days working in a row and I was on call for my final night, got called in twice and didn't get home until 4am. I don't have the energy for his sad stories right now. I have heard the same thing over and over and over again for a week. Nothing I say or do helps but he is relentless in needing validation that he is a good person, which he then doesn't even believe when you tell him.