Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Susa
Contributor

Worried about daughter (and me)

Hi 

I am new to this and don't really know where to start. 

my daughter is almost 14 and has recently been diagnosed with depression and anxiety , she has panic attacks as well and she has told me she has body dsymorphia, anorexia and loathes the way she looks. She tells me that she has been 'sneaky' with food and has been for up to 3 days without food on a couple of occasions and that in her mind the depression and anxiety stems (mostly) from her body dysmorphia. 

I have observed the deterioration of her mental health and self hatred stem from both periods starting snd the sudden break up of her dad and  her step mum, leading to  the loss of her baby  brother, step mum and step sister and dog  (who were quickly replaced with another family). 

her dad refuses to fully accept she has a mental health condition whereas I see it all the time, so aside from financial support (which is great) for psychology appointments (which she has only just agreed to re start), he doesn't believe me.

She hides it from him and close to tells him that I lie about it. So as he doesn't really see it, no wonder he doesn't really believe it. She mostly stays in her room around there and puts a spin on everything that I tell him and says things like ' mum can't tell the difference between a bit of sadness and depression'. 

she opens up to me about everything , and a lot including very dark  thoughts and tells me about the starving herself but won't speak to anyone other than me  her best friend (who also has body dsymorphia and starves herself).