Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

_duck
Casual Contributor

Hi everyone, I'm new to the group. Not really sure how to start. I'm rather new to this. My husband has depression, has had for years. He hasn't dealt with it. Most of the time things are amazing. But on bad times I'm the person who has to be the punching bag I guess (he has never been physically abusive, it's emotional abuse). I worry about saying things because I don't know the reaction on the day. He always makes me feel like it was fault that things blew up. I always feel I have done something wrong. I try extremely hard to stay calm but at times I can't. My mind goes into something & I can't control my emotions. I shake, my heart races, I can't breath.....I flip out. When this happens this becomes the focus & im the crazy woman again being a d@ck head. I was advised today by beyond blue that what he is doing is 'gaslighting'.

we have been together over 20 years...it's always been a problem but I have only really noticed it the last 5 years. Sadly his father committed suicide & he found him.....it's never been the same since. He sometimes can recognise he is depressed but mostly feels ashamed to admit it. I need help for myself to manage this. It's breaking me down & not sure how much more I can take. I'm also unable to work due to waiting for surgery so my own mental health is taking a big kick at the moment. I don't feel I can be the mum or wife I need to be due to my injury. I'm not able to do anything. I feel completely helpless. I'm no longer the strong person I thought I was. 
Thanks for reading....I hope I'm starting this the right way....

8 REPLIES 8
Zoe7
Community Guide

Re: Newbie