Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

MathastixX
New Contributor

Life Regrets

Hi,

This is my first time posting in SANE forum.. There's so many things I want to talk about, but I'll try to keep it short as possible.

I'm an international graduate student studying electrical engineering in Australia. It's been 6 years since I left my home country and live in Melbourne.

Over the past few years, I've been feeling regretful about my life choices and becoming more and more depressed. I feel like I'm stuck in a really deep hole and there's nothing I can do to get out.

I can't get myself motivated to study and I feel that I don't really have a reason to study overseas to begin with.. I've been skipping classes and failing subjects.

My mom kept pushing me to continue study and extend my visa, but I don't know if I want to continue my study or not. I couldn't build up my courage to tell her that I want to go back home or I don't want to stay in Australia permanently.... and it really hurts me to see her keep spending more and more money on me, her worthless son, so she can get me permanent residency and retire in Australia...

I don't know what to do... Honestly, I don't even know if I have the skill to complete my postgraduate course and this is only one of many regrets I felt recently... Can anyone really help me with my depression?

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Life Regrets

@MathastixX  Welcome to the forums.

Maybe the first step towards help with your depression, is seeing your GP. I know that can be daunting, but you do deserve support. Or do they have a counsellor at uni you could talk to.