Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Former-Member
Not applicable

Need a reason to keep going

Hi, I've been having depressed thoughts on and off for about a year now and I don't see why i keep trying anymore. I'm in my last year of high school, i don't have any friends, and my parents fight regularly. I study hard because that's all i can do and i'm nothing but a number on the report card. They would be better off if i died. The one thing that kept me going is my goal of getting into medicine, but even that doesn't seem to matter anymore because i feel like i won't be good enough for it. Any reasons to keep going would be amazing right now. Thanks in advance.

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Need a reason to keep going

Hi @Former-Member

Welcome to the Forums. I’m sorry to hear how difficult things are at the moment. It’s great that your goal of getting into medicine has kept you going – I’m sorry you’re feeling as though you’re not good enough for it anymore.

You’ve mentioned that you have had depressed thoughts on and off for about a year. That makes me think that you have felt this way before and the feelings have passed. Has anything happened that’s making this time feel different?

There are lots of other members here on the forums who have struggled with depressed thoughts and feeling as though they’re not good enough. Maybe they will have some thoughts about what has kept them going…?

@Former-Member, I’m also going to send you a quick email to check in. Welcome once again and please keep posting Smiley Happy

Hi Acacia,