Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

RGM93
New Contributor

My life fell apart..

Hello, this is my first time posting here, I’m a 26 year old guy from QLD. I was diagnosed with BPD from a psychiatrist a few years ago, and thought that while it could explain some things, I didn’t have any symptoms at the time and chose to ignore the diagnosis. Almost two months ago, I came home from work and was met at the bus stop by my then almost 2 year girlfriend, who told me she had packed everything and was leaving. Our relationship was intense from the beginning (as most bpd relationships are), and 4 months in she moved from VIC to live with me in QLD. She also has mental health problems, so occasionally arguments would blow up and become really intense, with me becoming physical with her. The second and final time I was physical with her in an argument, we were overseas. The next day, things were back to normal, she said she forgave me, we went and got our names tattooed on eachother. We arrived back into the country, and two days later, she left me. 

I was in complete shock and could not believe what was happening, I was already having a bad day with my mental health, and already felt very suicidal. I was an emotional mess, and felt really panicked, so I went and attempted suicide. I just felt at that time, I couldn’t take the emotional pain any longer, I just wanted it to stop. I ended up getting quite unwell and was taken to hospital for the weekend, and released to stay at my parents house where I now currently live. I left my job, because I just stopped being able to function. I also work in mental health which brings along its own challenges.