Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

png35
New Contributor

I have trouble dealing with...

I have trouble dealing with my kid's and partner.
I'm a wounded combat vet and all i know is that
So when the kids have a teenage brain snap and scream the house down coz you asked if they want ice scream i just don't know what to do.
I really can't deal with any forms of mental shit

4 REPLIES 4

Re: I have trouble dealing with...

I dont know why today's kids are worse behaved than they used to be .. maybe its all the plastics and gunk in the air ??? I would like to think that they arent but getting the balance between child and adult rights and responsibilities seems trickier than most of us ever thought possible.

When I started at therapy 30 years ago, a psychiatrist told me that "the family was like a war zone" ... I thought he was being metaphorical ... or he was talking about other people's families ... but sadly it came to be a truth in mine ...I am a "walking wounded" from family wars.

Maybe you can find a way ...

I dont think you should have to take that kind of teenage behaviour as "normal" ... I am gently trying for zero tolerance on lack of respect ... it seems to working .. better late than never.

Welcome

Usually when it comes to children, the only to deal with them is to understand their thoughts. Cause for any persons in the world, thinking becomes action. Therefore, to stop them behaving wild is to understand the reason behinds their wrong doings.