Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Juzz
Casual Contributor

Help please

Hello there, im new to this and the whole forum thing but a bit of back ground I guess when I was 16 I got told I had BPD I went through treatment therapy what ever you call it and got many amazing coping mechanisms.

I'm now 25 and have found life getting away from me again my self harm has been increasingly frequent my ability to cope with stress is pretty much non existent, I still remain very good and putting on a front to avoid questions but as soon as im alone I feel incredibly alone.

Anyway im from New Zealand and I arrived here in February I have a full time job a lease on a house ect ect. And today I went to the doctor and asked for help I pretty much hit Barriers every where as I don't have a Medicare card, and I got shunted out of the office without many questions asked and told to come back when I have a card. Well that just made me feel so good about myself.. 😕 I had a big break down im lucky enough to have a very supportive mother and she helped talk me into a calm state but was unable to help with how I go about getting a Medicare card.

Im pretty sure I can figure it out but another thing I need help with is if anyone knows a doctor that has an understanding of mental health that I could go see I want to get refered to a psychologist so I can start building up my strength an coping systems but the one I went to today made me feel like I was tiner than an ant and that feeling is hard to bear.

Well I don't know how this works I don't even know if this is what a forum is for but im reaching out to the community for help and any advice is appreciated x
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Help please

Hi @Juzz