Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

dhr53
Senior Contributor

Everyday

hi I am new to this, I have depression and have had it for much longer than what I had realised. It is horrible to think all those black and non functioning days were caused by chemicals in my brain running a muck. I have often felt selfishand  confused that I can't find joy when I have no reason not to feel joy. I am on antidepressants but at the moment I am struggling a bit. It is difficult when there is no one to talk to. I do have a partner who is wonderful but I have burdened him with enough grief al ready. I don't know if it is because I am tired, or because I don't have any close friends, or because we live a long way from people, or because I am on my own a lot in the evenings. Then I drink, not huge amounts but more that is healthy. Then I feel like a spoilt cow, when I have so much and yet can't feel the joy. Pathetic!!

11 REPLIES 11
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Everyday

Hi, Glad you are posting here... I've felt and do feel the same way a lot of the time. I'm so glad that you are recognising that it is the depression that causes it. Its like a blanket over anything bright and happy in life and dampens it somehow. I try to remind myself that the good stuff is still there I just have to search for it. I started a thread called the 365 project for me (and anyone else) to find something each day thats been good, or that we can feel greatful for. Something I read a while ago said that looking for positives and making it a habit actually helps to rewire some of the processes that cause depression. But its a daily battle.