Forums Home

Lived Experience Forum

Acceptance, connection, support. Share the journey.

Safe, anonymous discussion for people living with mental illness, moderated 24/7 by mental health professionals.

Read the community guidelines
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Social Spaces

Highlighted
Senior Contributor

What Musical Instrument Do You Play?

This is a topic to find those of us in this forum who play any musical instrument. Does anyone play any of the following:

1)Piano

2)Guitar(electric or acoustic)

3)Flute

4)Trumpet

5)Drums

Just to name a few.

How long have you been playing? What type of music do you like to play?

I am a self taught piano player.Love sitting at the piano and singing my head off.Makes me feel good.Its a great feeling.Been playing piano since 1980s when I found a simple way to learn.I could never understand how to read music.I read chords instead. Playing piano is as simple as knowing what to press.Each note has a name.There's 88 of them all together. They start with C,D,E,F,G,A,B,C. Press 3 at the same time and you've got yourself 1 chord.Play that chord with both hands.It sounds much better.Add a few more chords and you've got yourself a song.

I love playing love ballads.They do wonders.

Thanks for stopping by.

8 REPLIES 8

Re: What Musical Instrument Do You Play?

Great to hear about your approach to learning to play piano. @Denv12 

I saw a singer playing keyboard last night at an old haunt.

Music is magic.

Heart

Hi @Appleblossom

Thank you for replying. Making music is a great feeling.I watched everyone else doing it for years then found a way to learn.It paid off.

Denv12.

Totally into participation in music.

Heart @Denv12