Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

beans
Contributor

sharing experiences with schizophrenia

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, hopefully I'm posting in the right forum 🙂 Thank you for having me.

I have a brother (38 y/o) that is battling some mental health issues and I wanted to touch base with someone who has schizophrenia or perhaps similiar conditions. I would like to get your perspective on how you think we can support him. Unfortunately he is not receptive to seeking help, therefore he does not have a diagnosis.

I'm not a medical professional, however I feel like his symptoms point to schizophrenia. I think that a combination of genetics, heavy cannabis use and some instense life changes in a small amount of time has contributed to his decline. At the moment, I don't feel he is at risk to himself or others so involunatary treatment is not an option for us. We also want to support him before it gets to that point. If he's not willing to seek help, I was wondering if perhaps you had some advice on how we could encourage him to do so? Do you have any suggestions on what to do or perhaps what NOT to do? At the moment family is the enemy for him and everything we say/do isn't helping him.

Thank you for your time ❤️

14 REPLIES 14

Re: sharing experiences with schizophrenia

Hi @beans, and welcome to the forums.