Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Liz76
Casual Contributor

Ptsd and work place bullying

Hi everyone.. I'm new to this so I hope I can get some help or advice from you all.

Firstly, I am a retired police officer, medically retired from chronic ptsd, anxiety and depression.i have struggled for years and have been cared for by police insurers and drs to try to get back some sense of a normal life.  I felt well enough to return to a workplace and obtained a government job where I am highly qualified however, about 5 months into it my team leader changed my working arrangements, stopped me from attending meetings and refused to allow me to join a workplace committee because i didnt ask her permission. I was not allowed to attend appointments that inconvenienced her, make decisions, or speak with the public longer than 5 minutes. She would give me 'job' lists and make me take home work items in my private vehicle for the weekend to drop at other offices. She also controlled my desk phone and would often comment on my workload in front of the office trainee who she allows to do nothing all day and rewards him. I drive 50 minutes to work daily and 50 minutes home. She will ring other offices and asks staff if i am sitting where she had told me to sit. I was also informed I needed to 'slim down'. I have reported this to HR and they sent both the bullies to the office to confront me without warning and without support. I ended up taking 3 weeks off special leave however, I have been back a week and they moved me to another office and I am not allowed to speak of what happened to me.. I feel as though I am losing my mind.. I can't sleep I can't think straight and I can't focus.