Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Denv12
Senior Contributor

OCD:Functional Impairment.

The version of OCD I've been battling since 2006 is called Functional Impairment.It stops you looking after yourself and your hygiene.It changed the way I looked.I decided the day it started that the mongrel has to go.Its not going to stay around.I beat it.I win.

I had a variety of annoying rituals at set times.Its so disgusting.Excuse my lack of respect for disorders.

On top of that its what it stopped me doing.It messed up my every day life.It stopped me doing things at random.I could get around some problems if I got someone else to do things.I could order books online to a point.I'd go up to order summary and stop.My mum (who was my visiting carer) would take over and hit the "place order" button.Done.

Here are some of the things it stopped me doing:

shaving,trimming my hair,trimming my fingernails and toenails,changing my clothes,washing my clothes,couldnt maintain my computer by updating anti viurus,etc(I destroyed 2 computers in 6 years),Couldnt move items around my home,most things stayed where they were.I could use food and drinks stored in fridge/freezer,couldnt defrost freezer,newpapers and magazines that remained here got stacked up in the spaqre room.