Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Paralyzed
Casual Contributor

I’m scared to live, but I’m scared to die!

I’m 42, and I’ve been surviving life and in a dissociative state since I was about 14 years old. I had a difficult childhood and as a result, I am left with a lot of trauma. 
I went undiagnosed until about 2 years ago. Psychologist’s continued to tell me that I’m fine and that they can’t help me. Because of the dissociation, I was able to live a life as a high functioning adult but I always knew that something wasn’t right! 
I am emotionally detached and have always struggled to maintain friendships and relationships. When I was finally diagnosed, I was married but I chose to end the marriage because I was incapable of giving love and receiving love. 
I have chosen to remain single and have accepted that I will most likely live my life as a single person until my time is up. I live alone, I have no friends and have no social life whatsoever. The only time I leave my house, is when I need to run an errand. 
I have suicidal thoughts on a daily basis and I made a serious attempt to take my life in April this year. Why? Because I don’t see any reason for living as a human being that is unable to feel and unable to connect with other humans. 
I live my life from learned behaviour and I am at a point where I don’t want to do it anymore. 
Alien by Lucidious 

Paralyzed by NF

I’m sitting in silence, wondering what the heck I’m doing with my life! 
Thanks for listening…

8 REPLIES 8

Re: I’m scared to live, but I’m scared to die!