Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Dexica
Casual Contributor

Hi there

this is my first time here and it is awesome to find you all here. I live in the country so finding people that are on the same page is hard. I have been married to the same person for 28 years now.  we didn't know about the illness until much later. We have two beautiful children amazing considering how this illness had and does consume our home. Im so glad not because of what others have had to suffer but to find already feelings that are the same. Stories similar. I have wanted to leave my partner many times with the same thing of the unpredictability and the one minute they are with you then the next they are not. It is hard to take always the look in their eyes like you are invisible or you are part of the problem or the enemy, an annoyance that is in the way. I face this nearly every other day. even though he is on meds. there have been some improvements. but not many> We almost officially separated last year its been on again off again ever since. Him calling the shots saying its my doing. He came to me one day and said you don't love me do you. Its true my feelings for him have changed. I feel so bad about that. I was sooooo in love with him that even back then i didn't see that he wasn't just getting over a broken relationship before me that this is something he had been living with all his life. LOL how we ever got together is a miracle that i still wonder over. Can someone tell me that it can happen that your feelings for your partner can change? because of how you get treated on a daily baises? I asked someone if my thoughts to leave walkaway were selfish and i still don't know. WHen he is with me Oh my go