Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

CapnWannabe
Contributor

G'day everyone

Hi all..I'm a noob to this forum, and here is my story..

For the last 10 years or so, I've been a single dad to three kids.  My ex-wife and I split up in 2009 about 9 months after we moved from Melbourne to Perth.  Initially, she had my daughters, and I had my son, but things changed after she got pregnant to her new boyfriend.  I would have fought to change things anyhow....I was driving my daughters back to my place for the weekend when my older daughter (aged 7 at the time) leaned over, grabbed my arm, looked me in the eye and said "I want to come and live with you".

Anyhow, my ex had issues with her pregnancy (she had issues with all of our kids -  they're all premmies) and was ordered by her doctor to go home, go to bed, and don't get out until you're ready to drop...or words to that effect.  This meant my daughters came to live with me, as my ex could no longer look after them.

To cut a long story short, I decided the best thing to do would be to come back to Melbourne, where I had family - both mine and hers - to help with raising the kids.  I had no support network in Perth, and working full time while raising three kids was proving to be too much of a challenge.

In 2011, I made the move, and we've been here ever since.