Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

perseverer
Senior Contributor

Disability Support Nightmare

Last July I left the paid workforce (I was a primary school teacher) to care full time for my husband and three adult sons who all have MI. Three have schizophrenia. The support from mental health workers has been good, though there is a frustrating reluctance on the part of private psychiatrists to diagnose. 

The number one challenge facing us was income support. I applied for and received carer's payment for my eldest son, and carer's allowance for my eldest son and husband. Our applications for disability support pension were rejected. In the meantime we sold our home in Melbourne and were trying to buy a bed and breakfast business in Tasmania. This fell through because we did not have enough income to get finance. Naturally I went through the complaints process and ended up writing to the minister for human services. He appointed someone to personally manage our case and we were told we were getting disability, it would be back paid to August. So the move to Tassie was back on. We had our interviews got on the boat and arrived at the only place we could get accommodation which was a country pub, only to find out on Christmas Eve our applications were rejected again. The man appointed to personally help us did not return our calls. 

So here we are, homeless for 48 days, having had 9 changes of address in the past two months, waiting to occupy a different affordable house, and the Australian Government has seriously expected me to support my family of five adults on less than $1000 a fortnight.