Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

lep227
Contributor

Borderline Personality Disorder

My partner is currently in re-hab for drug and alcohol addiction but i believe he also has Borderline Personality Disorder. I realise i have no professional experience to diagnose but having read extensively on the subject i believe he has this condition. I guess i'm really looking for advice on what to do next. When i spoke to him on Christmas Eve he was abusive and therefore i didn't visit him for Christmas because i believe i  must set limits so that i dont get hurt and also to not enable this behaviour. I haven't spoken to him for a week but have sent two letters. I don't know what to do next. Do i just keep writing? He hasn't tried to call me or written yet although the phone is his preferred method of communication. I still love him and want to be with him when he leaves re-hab but i'm afraid of the trauma that he inflicted on me before he went to rehab and the anger in his voice on the last phonecall. Do i suggest to his counsellor in the re-hab that I would like a meeting? Do i leave him to work on his d and A issues and leave his relationship issues till later? Any suggestions from people who have experienced anything similar are greatly appreciated.

34 REPLIES 34

Re: Borderline Personality Disorder

Hi @lep227,

A warm welcome to the Sane Forums Smiley Happy

While I cannot provide you with advice on what to do next, I have to say that you have done an amazing job at setting boundaries with your partner, as this is a very difficult thing to do particularly at this time of year!