Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Re: Anyone started with the NDIS?

Thanks for that @Appleblossom , i will bear that in mind. 

Hope today is a good one for u.

Yesterday I met (via phone) a peer mentor from the local disability alliance.  Very interesting person with lots of advice about how to make NDIS work better for me.  They are going to help me with all sorts of things once I get my new plan, which should be next week.  Anticipating it with significant anxiety.  I am not good at change but working at telling myself I will adapt if necessary, I got through it last year.  And that it's ok if it takes a bit of time to get things organised the way I want them.

2 specific things they will help me with is changing and engaging a new Coordinator of Supports that does not work for the same organisation that's providing support workers, and learning how to understand the NDIS portal on the myGov website. 

There are other things we discussed also e.g. not needing the periodic reviews that the support organisations have been doing - that in fact they are done so the organisation can account to the NDIS and remain accredited, not really for my benefit.  That actually I can do such periodic assessment myself if I want to (of goals, progress and necessary steps to proceed with).

Also e.g. how to claim payment for support workers to cover me interviewing them prior to deciding if I want to work with them.

I know there was more but can't remember it all atm.