Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Loiter
Contributor

Getting comfortable with creating

I've been a musician my whole life but I really struggle with keeping up a consistent practice, and I'd also really like to write songs but I struggle with that too.  I just get this awful prickly feeling each time I sit down to play.  When I practice, I worry that I'll never finish learning the piece or make it sound good.  When I write, I worry that what I'm writing is silly or no-one wants to hear it.  I know that neither of those things are really true, I've received plenty of praise for my skills, but still this feeling persists.

Has anybody else here had similar problems with creativity?  What things have helped you?

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Getting comfortable with creating

@LoiterHi Loiter and welcome :D. I am having great difficulty doing my studies. I just cannot focus or retain anything. I am sure it is a mixture of my medications and also my diagnosis (schitzoaffective disorder). I have no brilliant ideas on how to over come these sorts of problems just wanted to say you are no alone. Love greenpeax

Hi @Loiter and welcome to the forum.